top of page

Charity & Meekness

And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity. 1 Corinthians 13.13

Hello star-shines; Welcome!

Of charity, Christian living sacrifices are as meek as sheep for everyone.  Amen.

Charity & Meekness: “Living Sacrifices”

All the glory, and all the praise, and all the honour, and all the strength, and all the knowledge, and all the wisdom, and all the blessing, is, and forever and ever be, to him, which is, and which was, and which is to come, KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS, the Saviour of the world, the Prince of Peace, God alone incarnate, the everlasting Father and our Lord Jesus Christ, the Almighty. Amen.

Ahead of us today is a very important topic – “Charity and Meekness.” Both words, particularly in the Holy Bible have “gentle essences” but are quite powerful when manifested. This topic (charity and meekness) is so broad, of which might take (God willing…) about 4 installment parts in the pleasure of God’s edification. By grace, authentic study of “charity” shall yield priceless treasures of knowledge within, if the follower of Christ brings it on to fruition called wisdom. Then “meekness” shall be for the soul to keep as everlasting joy.

Behold the holy scripture above (1 Corinthians 13.13): It speaks of three main words – faith, hope, and charity. Christian faith is belief in Jesus Christ of Nazareth, in the greatest true story ever told for (within his written gospel, that good news of his salvation,) and in “who is he.” Christian hope is sure longing in the Lord’s return, the redemption of the body, and the promise of God for heaven (for everlasting life in paradise with him, God our Maker,) all from that faith of salvation. Christian charity though comes “afterwards”- right after faith and hope: Charity is a righteous trait of Christian maturity. Amen. Christian meekness is a fruit of the Spirit, which faith, hope, and charity brought forth (“especially charity”). But what does charity and meekness mean plainly? I will discuss “charity” first. Let us get on with the definitions….

Sources: Cambridge, Merriam Webster, Oxford Dictionaries, & Dictionary.com:

Note: All these reliable Dictionaries agree on this following general first definition of charity:

1. Charity (n.; pl. charities) generosity and helpfulness especially toward the needy or suffering; also : aid given to those in need the giving of money, food, or help to those who need it, or an organization which do this:

Note: All these reliable Dictionaries, except for Cambridge’s (its primary definitions,) all agree on this following second general definition of charity:

2. Charity (n.; pl. charities) Kindness and tolerance in judging others; leniency in judging others; forbearance

I have always defined the word (charity) as “generosity and helpfulness,” from a donation, just like the first definition above. My very own country, the Philippines, even has a government agency called PAGCOR (Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation) which has “Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office” (PCSO) as one of its branches (if I’m not mistaken…) PCSO donates cash, or kind, towards every needy Filipino citizen. The office sells “Sweepstakes draw tickets,” Lottery draw tickets (Philippine Lotto,) etc. Portions of their net-proceeds go to charity. The word, charity, was so simple for me then: I hear it every time as either a “gift offering of love,” or an obligated “NGO” (Non-Government Organization) giving help/relief/support like medicine, food etc. Charity was a donation, as simple as that. I believe my fellow millions and millions of Filipinos understand it that simple too, Christian or not, with few learned exceptions probably. Charity ever sounded (and meant) plainly as a word for “giving,” which is true. But in God’s predestined time, “simple charity” became “greatest charity" for me now! Amen.

True undeniable fact in me is I would have never sought another meaning of this word, have not God destined me. The sovereign will of grace (the Spirit of truth,) caused me. Thus, here I am today discussing intently “one of the greatest words” in the entire Holy Bible (especially in the New Testament) that is “charity.” Other versions (many of them,) of the Bible have instead replaced it for the word “love” in several places. The 13th chapter of Apostle Paul’s Epistle to the Corinthians (1 Corinthians 13) is one major example of these replacements. “Charity,” the word itself (“charity” on the Authorized King James Bible/AKJV, but “love” on the New International Version/NIV and many others,) is the main subject matter of “1 Corinthians 13.” The word “love” is so great too, that “God is defined as love” also…. But after the Lord Jesus Christ Almighty caused me to know the meaning of “charity” distinctively, by his grace I will never mistake “charity” for “love” anymore on “1 Corinthians 13” and several more important places in the holy scriptures! Amen.

What, where, when, why, and how Johnyboy? Wow! Questions towards me do come a bunch huh….LOL! Okay here we go with my story….

I was perfectly content and happy then when we (with my wife,) from the beginning, baptized in a beloved ministry/church in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, using primarily this “NIV” of the Holy Bible. For as a babe-Christian of the Spirit, hey, “anything wrong with the word ‘love' when ‘God himself is love' in the Bible?” Thus, we went on. I proceeded with my “new life” rejoicing, and ever seeking him (who redeemed, cleansed, saved, and saving me,) every time of every moment. Little I know, before heaven, “I was already marked for death!” A ceasing death of from that current Bible we were using, on to another more perfect which is the Authorized Version (A.V.), even the King James Bible in the year of our Lord 1611. For there were so many differences of the first from the latter - the latter being so much more perfect, we inevitably had to abandon the first. It was as if the Lord himself came and offered me an offer I cannot resist, for it was true. Furthermore, my soul felt the Spirit of God, as like a “grieved-child” (or a grieved faithful, generous, but very jealous husband…) telling me how his treasured possession got robbed, and or got changed (or faked) for much cheaper, weaker, and filthy ones. That if my soul had said “no” towards the truth God set before me (while witnessing the true claims of Baptist brethren like pastors David Stewart, Jack Hyles etc., about gross perversions of the Holy Bible made by NIV, NKJV etc.) it would have grieved the Holy Ghost, and the Lord Jesus Christ would have cursed and branded me worst than Judas Iscariot, who betrayed him over silver, or any wicked enemy of God, of Christ, and of his gospel! This is only my story with my Saviour. My heart and my soul’s opinion I have just shared.

For me and my family: For our “Fundamental Presbyterian Philadelphia Church Christian conviction" of by the written Word of God: The Holy Bible (Authorized King James Version) is the perfect written Word of God, word for word. Amen. The Almighty caused me to know and have that “pearl of great price” (the A.V.'s) through mighty Christian brethren, the Fundamental Baptists, by Pastor David J. Stewart (http://www.jesus-is-savior.com/). I am not a Baptist Christian though. The Baptist Christians surely are brethren. They are one of the seven golden candlesticks of the Lamb. Amen. Of course, accordingly, those which do not know “the depths of Satan,” and those which are not presumptuous transgressors of the Law of Moses and the Commandments of the Lord, though they are using other Bibles, are Christian brethren indeed. Amen.

WHY?

One very important detail convinced me to change our NIV Bible for AKJV Holy Bible. That “priceless detail” was more than enough for me to leave the once-beloved owned NIV Bible. The utmost important detail was so significant, that it rocked “NIV’s Christian - teachings,” to its core, but into the perfection of Christian truth written in the AV: The NIV Bible in the first chapter of the Epistle of Apostle Paul to the Colossians removed (or erased) the precious blood of Jesus Christ! (COLOSSIANS 1.14)

God recognize and acknowledges the more perfect soul-cleansing precious blood of Jesus Christ's cross at Calvary.  Amen.

In my soul (in my heart and mind together,) if the only, again I say, “the only,” agent (or element) for God to forgive and forget my damnable damned sins, is the precious blood of his only begotten Son (his own image, or owned physical self/body,) then not in a thousand years (neither for the rest of eternity, without exaggeration…) would I ever forget or neglect it! But the shed precious blood of Jesus Christ on his cross at Calvary, is the only element for forgiveness (and for the cleansing of conscience), which God recognize and acknowledges, indeed. Amen. But this is only my own shared-heart speaking to all: I have nothing to do with the rest of the holy brethren using any version of the Bible: If any would believe now, this is “charity” too. Amen.

HOW?

From that caused discovery (or exposition, if I may say…) in the Spirit of God about the scriptures, my spirit was “downhill” from there. I felt though, I have to “start again” on a “new one” (newly discovered perfect one…) yet of true glorious and authentic record this time around. My spirit with the Spirit perceived then (and I soliloquized…) that, “Now I’m sure I got (and shall have and enjoy) the just, the righteous, the sweet, passionate, and beautiful, the perfect words of the loving precious Saviour, my Lord, who died, shed his precious perfect blood at his cross for me, Jesus Christ! Amen. “Charity at 1 Corinthians 13” (and in other places of the scriptures,) of course, was never an expectation to discover, of its replacements. All I know was (and is,) I love God with all my heart, my mind, my soul, and my strength, that again (as in Christ’s calling in Dubai, of the gospel, of repentance, of baptism etc.) I found joy in the Holy Ghost through AKJV: As if the sweet Lord shall tell me another story but the same love. Then I started “comparing” NIV with AKJV. My soul first “questioned” NIV “why;” then I felt a “little anger” which in time became sadness. I felt these emotions, especially “sorrow” that we were still with beloved brethren using NIV and other versions.

My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word. Psalm 119.81

There were occasions when I felt “alone” after knowing (discovering) the A.V., especially when I started quoting them more often. There was even a time when I got even into wandering, “why every Christian around me does not feel the same about:” But the LORD is a sweet Comforter; and every faithful shall come home to his peace ultimately. Amen. In all these times of seeking, checking, reflecting, discovering, sharing, rejoicing, singing, dancing, dreaming, writing, witnessing, I finally arrive where “I am now” – discussing “charity,” a lonely forgotten word replaced by “love” on many versions of the Bible. Trust me now in the name of our Lord Jesus: Every faithful seeker and follower of Christ, separated from the flock or not, shall arrive at the “perfection of the heart,” along with persecutions and afflictions, in the appointed time of the Almighty. Amen. Let us all see it now, by grace, moving on….

Behold this following holy: I believe by grace, this is the “one who did my soul” for:

And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. 1 Corinthians 13.3

Hey beloved, we have discussed earlier plainly the general definitions of “charity,” didn’t we? I even personally summarized that, “Charity is a donation, as simple as that.” Since all the leading dictionaries of the entire world defines it as, “generosity and helpfulness” toward the needy or suffering; also an aid given to those in need.” It might be imperative to add, that the word “donation” means, “Giving to a good cause.” Therefore one last time: Charity is giving. Now looking intently at “1st Corinthians Chapter 13, Verse 3” (1 Corinthians 13.3, the holy scripture just above this paragraph,) with common sense, it states here that biblically, “Charity is NOT literal giving:” “Charity is neither bestowing all goods, nor giving of one’s self (one’s body,) after all….

At first encounter of this particular scripture, I got appalled. Then I had thought “NIV and many others got it right after all,” of replacing “charity” for “love” that charity is indeed giving, and “AKJV had it wrongly," and this holy verse (with the Spirit’s permission, if I may,) may instead should have been:

“And though I charity (I bestow all my goods to feed the poor,) and though I charity more (I give my body to be burned,) and have not love, it profiteth me nothing.”

Isn’t that better? Or is it? Let us move further, shall we….

Eventually, after a little confusion (but very important edification in the truth about, hasting of the Holy Ghost’s,) I was lead homeward to the Comforter on these following holies: (every Christian has their Bible Concordance however so…):

Now as touching things offered unto idols, we know that we all have knowledge. Knowledge puffeth up, but charity edifieth. And if any man think that he knoweth any thing, he knoweth nothing yet as he ought to know. But if any man love God, the same is known of him. 1 Corinthians 8. 1-3

Behold these scriptures just above: I'm not to discuss its meaning. Neither it's interpretation or reflection, no. However, by God's grace, I placed it, to show that these two words (charity and love) “co-exists” in the scriptures. The words, "charity" and "love" in the Holy Bible, each got their distinct meaning/s appropriate for. And here (for now...) are two reflections which the Spirit reveals of its love for us:

  • “Charity and love may always be given for the brethren, and they are almost the same in meaning; Yet one may love God, but no one may give God charity (as if God ever needed anything, either anyone seeing him wrong,) though it (charity) may also be spiritually given, just like love." Amen.

  • “Charity and love have only a ‘hairline of a difference;' Yet that very little unlikeness makes all the difference with regards to a believer’s Christian conviction; And unity of the churches, of which God our Saviour expects from us all, is gloriously at stake of both, when perfected” Amen.

Therefore: There is only one thing left here: What is the difference between the words “charity” and “love,” in the written Word of God? We shall understand better if we define “love” first by the dictionaries: Let’s go take brief generic definitions of it, though we all can describe it; then in our Lord, his light of truth, shall appear wonderfully full of joy and liberty! Amen.

Sources: Oxford Dictionary; Collins Dictionary; Dictionary.com; Vocabulary.com; Cambridge Dictionary

1. Love (n.) deep or strong emotion of affection (emotion or affection); a romantic or sexual attraction; liking someone

2. Love (v.) be enamored or in love with; sexual embrace (or intercourse); like someone (or great liking)

Once more, I quote – “Any man of faith may always ‘give love to’ (or ‘love’) God, based on all definitions from these great Dictionaries; However man may not charity to God (or towards God) simply because man “cannot,” with plain basis on the definition of the words, "charity and love," themselves. Amen. In the best of my knowledge (even of the sound grace which God gave me, from the beginning of my birth “as one of his scribes” assigned for the kingdom of the Lord in heaven most high: St. Matthew 13.52 etc.,) I have read the definitions carefully today (and way back then - years ago about these important matters, even before the Spirit of God let me imagine a website such as this before us now,) of both words. And so behold my following firm conclusion by the Father’s grace and in the name of the same God, the Holy Ghost and our Lord Jesus Christ:

My conclusion between “Charity & Love's,” of the holy Spirit:

The words “love and charity” are quite similar, especially in the written Word, the Holy Bible. However, with basis on the definitions from dictionaries, though both words may provide a positive (or good) essence, between them is a noticeable difference. While both, when brought and done, may prove virtue, either spiritually expressed (unseen or invisible emotion or affection of love, and tolerance for charity,) or physically executed (love as like sexual intercourse; charity as like giving or donating money, food etc.) each are demanded appropriate delivery.

Therefore there is now “a great error somewhere and somehow” of those which replaced “charity” for “love” on every place in the entire Holy Bible, regardless of how great and virtuous these two words may – and that even the greatest word which is “love,” God compared himself with. But in that “charity” denotes certain specific measure, and execution, of love (or of great deep affection, which is “tolerance,”) that even how great the word “love” may extend for eternity (as God is eternal…) may never describe. Amen. Charity has another meaning, which is, “leniency in judging others, or, mercy and or tolerance in judging others,” of which the word “love” don’t.

As an example, Biblically speaking: On 1 Corinthians 13: The Apostle Paul wrote “charity” instead of “love” throughout this chapter, for it (exercising or doing charity) was a command (as of a discipline for disciples, or “saints”) for the Christians in Corinth: He, Paul, wrote a command of discipline “from brethren towards brethren,” and not “from brethren towards the Lord our God;” Otherwise he would have opted to write “love” instead, if he had pertained it (doing love and not charity,) for God or towards God our Saviour. Please see proof in the holy scriptures (1 Corinthians 8. 1-3,) where Paul clearly used both words, near from each other, yet each has different function - as "charity to edify others," and "love for loving God." These verses are also displayed over above earlier. Both words rarely appear close with each other, in that they are fair similar by meaning solely from angles of virtue and of "giving." Nevertheless, that 'very significant difference between them has been established valid and of huge purpose.

For it is impossible to extend or give God charity. It would have been outrageous or insane madness, if the apostle had written that way, which was not, of course. But instead, welcoming of grace is to give or to love God. Amen. A Christian may both love and do charity for every fellow: But he cannot do both (to love and to do charity) towards God, since it is simply inappropriate - grammatically and literary incorrect. Amen. And as it is (as it is clearly written) the writer of the “First Epistle to the Corinthians,” Paul the apostle, told and ordered the Corinthians “to love one another” but by charity. And he surely meant, that “charity” (or “charitable love”) is not giving or bestowing of goods, or dying for the gospel or the brethren, but the leniency or tolerance (mercy) in judging others, or rather I should say, "tolerance in judging one another." Amen.

Thus, the word “charity” on the Authorized Version (the King James Bible) is perfect everywhere it is written and stated. So, after a careful, and devoted, study and analysis, by the faithful grace of God (the Holy Ghost/Wisdom), there was no need for it to get erased or replaced after all. Amen. Letting “love” replace “charity” everywhere allows the removal of tolerance of Christian to his fellows. There should be no arguments among us all, the Bride of Christ, the Church (gathered from the Seven Churches) since “love” clearly has no definitions of "tolerance and leniency in judgment," of which mean “charity.” Amen. Forms of perversion give way for unwanted divisions among the churches of God and of Christ also, of which have been since removal and replacements. Of the Spirit, the apostles have made clear and firm warnings of those who cause divisions in the Churches too, from the beginning of Christian. Amen.

(End of my Conclusion, of the Spirit of God)

Erasures and or replacements of other Bible versions have surely (even literally) removed, diverted, and deleted very important holy matters between us and our Maker, the God of Abraham, of Isaac, and of Jacob. Precious things which bring peace and life to the soul, commandments, righteous instructions, truth in everything worthwhile here on earth (and for heaven to come,) pleadings in the Holy Ghost, and much more (most probably,) of God’s love by the Lord through the apostles and all righteous who wrote in the Spirit’s inspiration and sovereign will for all redeemed, might all be missing using them. Amen. By the grace of God, today, I have only discussed few very important words: Can you imagine how much may possibly be discussed and written, out of all the words which were removed or and replaced? God forbid, but I may write forever about them. Personally, I prefer not to include a great “offense” of those which “perverted” the words of God.

Anyone who has perverted the words of God is as like a wolf in sheep clothing devouring babes in faith.  Amen.

However my spirit (my conscience) is commanded by the Spirit itself/himself (power and Christ,) to remind them of their great transgressions against the holy scriptures’ truth. This blog was written for the sole sake now “towards repentance” especially for those which were not directly presumptuous on varying the scriptures. Amen. There is a forgivable sin, as well as there isn’t forgivable anymore. Amen. An intentional transgression against the Holy Ghost is fatal to death, but the Lord is merciful on all innocent ignorant contradictions. Amen. Yet I know well, that there are some (if not many,) which have benefited greatly from untoward works of deletion or replacements of important words in the Holy Bible, directly or not. Amen. I need not to name each of them: For perversions are notoriously “searchable online” at Google, at Bing, at Yahoo etc. That again, this blog is not to shame but a calling to “come back” into authenticity and truth for the knowledge of the Lord, his salvation, and that holy commonwealth of Israel (being Christian, natural or adopted) loving all men, especially the fellowship of faith, even charity. Amen.

Now, let us stop crying or murmuring (if so ever…) about thy poor brother’s keep (the gain they had, and are presently having still, through creating other versions of the Word of God, the sad and stinking spoil of the lost). But behold instead pitiful squandering in the world, the neglected souls of babes in the faith, caused by those naked, wretched, blind and destitute knowing nothing of our Lord’s will: And please beloved, never answer back to our Father in heaven this,

“… Lo, these many years do I serve thee, neither transgressed I at any time thy commandment: and yet thou never gavest me a kid, that I might make merry with my friends….” (St.Luke 15.29)

Hey, be like our Apostle Paul, as a living sacrifice, okay... For you who are last shall be first in the kingdom of God, of our Father in heaven: But lo, “everything of the kingdom are yours, beloved,” in the name of the Lord! Amen. Therefore, doubtless “get convinced” being a true edified Christian now. Me too, beloved – I am already convinced, for God have convinced me; even the Lord has made up my mind on this walk with him here on this earth. Amen. Here, I’ll tell you a wonder of charity….

"Oh yes, I see it, O Lord; I see this of you, O Lord, our love!" HalleluJah! Now behold all beloved, perfect charity for brethren, Jews and Gentiles, even love for God:

“Mercy rejoices over judgment!”

Though I may be entrusted of all the world’s riches, and I looked back to my own Christian brethren and to everyone from my own family (not to my dead sinful past…) but I do not look back towards Jerusalem and Israel, I have worked in vanity;

And though I may be entrusted all the treasures of the Churches of God/Christ, and give it all back to the needs of the flock of Christ accordingly, but I am glad of Israel’s lost from me, I have nothing in heaven before the Almighty;

And though I may have given my life, my body, and my soul, in the knowledge, in the revelations, in dreams and in visions, and in all gifts of power and of joy by the Holy Ghost, but have forsaken the blood of the prophets and the martyrs, out of their good works to keep the truth of Christ burning as a flame of hope, I have been a restless preacher, a hungry clanging cymbal, no good taste at all;

And though I have not kept myself on comfortable seats in the house of God, from persecutions and afflictions, from the poor, the homeless, and the needy, and from being burned at the stake, but have deprived Israel’s commonwealth, “that I see me holier than all of them below mine,” I will not have holiness with me forever, and I profit nothing (and have nothing) in heaven before the Father and his throne;

And though I may have learned everything and have given all back to the holy congregation, but I forsake mercy with love that is charity, instead ignorantly deprive confused brethren, Jews and Gentiles (inside and out,) “denying Christ in me,” I am nothing before the Lamb of God, before the Prince of Israel and everlasting Father in heaven. Amen.

Yet, everyone for now, may find these matters in the shade; but an open heart abiding in truth, while within thy church, shall Christ reveal in you “his perfect love, and mercy, for all brethren” called charity: Then all the angels in heaven are witnesses, together with all man on earth on your own priceless meekness, thy sacrifice, your perfect soul, the perfect you in Christ. Amen. 1 Corinthians 13.12 etc.

HalleluJah!

Again: “Charity and love have only a ‘hairline of a difference;’ yet that very little unlikeness makes all the difference with regards to a believer’s Christian conviction, and ultimately the unity of the Churches shall be him too, of which God our Saviour expects of us all.” Amen. And this we shall have next time, God willing, in the Spirit of our Lord….

I'll leave you all for now with this YouTube music video from the legendary singer, composer, drummer etc. Mr. Phil Collins with his great song, "Take Me Home," but on instrumental - arranged/mixed well by "metalkillerleads." For we're soon home at new Jerusalem, for blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! Amen.

St. Matthew 5.5; St. Luke 15.31 etc.

(Lovely meaningful images are from beloved https://pixabay.com/)

See you again, and never forget: “Just share; don’t compare.” ;) <3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page